Non-Executive Director Appointments to Ofwat

Nicola Bruce, Seema Kennedy OBE, Jonathan Kini and David Jones have been appointed to the Water Services Regulation Authority (Ofwat) Board

The new appointments are based on a time commitment of three days per month and receive a remuneration rate of £19,190 per annum. The appointments start on 1 December 2020 with Jonathan Kini appointed for a term of three years, Seema Kennedy and David Jones for four years, and Nicola Bruce for five years.

The appointments have been made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

The Code requires for appointees’ political activities (if significant) to be declared. Jonathan Kini, David Jones and Nicola Bruce have not declared any significant political activity. Seema Kennedy has held public office as a Conservative Member of Parliament.


Nicola Bruce

Nicola is on the Board of the Anchor Hanover Group, the UK’s largest provider of housing and care for older people. She also sits on the Board of CS Healthcare, a mutual private health insurer, where she chairs the Remuneration Committee and is a member of the Risk & Governance Committee. She is also on the Board of Wings Travel Management where she is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Nicola was previously on the Board of the Government’s Money Advice Service, where she chaired the Investment Committee, supporting the merger of Money Advice with Pension Wise and The Pension Advisory Service in 2018.

Seema Kennedy OBE

Seema Kennedy’s background is in corporate law and business. Between 2015 and 2019 Seema was MP for South Ribble before standing down at the last election. As an MP she was Public Health Minister, Immigration Minister and Co-Chair of the Jo Cox Commission on Loneliness.

Seema is currently the CEO of a charity which works to protect against gambling harms and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Public Health.

Jonathan Kini

Jonathan Kini is currently the Managing Director of TalkTalk Business. Prior to this, Jonathan has held senior roles in Virgin Media and Vodafone across both B2C and B2B, and most recently worked for Drax Plc as CEO of its Customer Businesses. He is also an advisor to the Bank of England.

He currently chairs the Business in the Community (BITC) Net Zero Carbon Taskforce.

David Jones

David Jones’ background is in software and digital technology where he has worked with several technology organisations on both strategy, investment and governance, including on the management of cybersecurity risks. He has also been CEO and Executive Chair of two successful software start-ups.

David also holds non-executive director roles at Ofcom and Qualifications Wales, and has recently held similar roles at the Aneurin Bevan University Health Board and the Welsh Revenue Authority.